My life in a blog…

February 22, 2006

Vent…

Filed under: Work — missymuh @ 12:09 am

If you cant afford to pay for the photos i take then don’t hire me people.

In the past 2 weeks I have had three of my clients tell me that they cant afford to buy any of the prints right now. All of these sessions took place in December last year. They were all totally aware of my pricing before they hired me, and when they saw the proofs they all said that they loved them and would buy the proofs on cd. Then i heard nothing from them for weeks. I gave them all a curtesy call this week and they have all knocked me back.

If you are going to hire a photographer to take photos of your kids, then one would expect that you would be able to actually pay for said photos once taken. I’m not doing this just for the fun of it people. It would be nice to make some money too. I am trying to make a career out of this and that is not helping.

Do you have any idea how much time and effort I put into those photos? It takes days sitting at the computer to colour correct, retouch, crop, resize, and edit your photos.

One client in particular rang me on a Friday asking me to come and take photos of her daughter because she needed them on Wednesday (long story). So i went over there on a Sunday. Took about 200 photos. Worked my butt off for the next two days proofing them all. i printed off 4-5 photos on my own printer using my own ink and paper, so that she would have something to show. Presented them to her in a nice little folder. She picked them up on Wednesday, and loved them. Said she would contact me ASAP to order the cd. Did i hear from her? Nope. Nothing, for nearly 4 weeks. So i call her, and apparently she can’t afford to pay for them now.

It is so frustrating.

You wouldn’t hire a painter to repaint your entire home then after he has finished announce that you have no money to pay him. So why get me to come over and take photos of your kids if you have no intention of buying the photos?

I understand what it is like to have money issues. What i don’t understand is why these people hire me when they are probably fully aware that they cant afford to purchase any of the photos. I don’t expect everyone to spend $500, but i do expect to get something out of it.

The session fee covers my travel expenses, talent as a photographer and the slideshow cd. That doesn’t cover my time working on said photos, nor do I make any other profit unless you buy them. I don’t want to have to put up my session fee to cover the time I spend proofing, but if no one buys the photos I’m gonna have to. I know for a fact that I don’t charge anywhere near as much as many other Children’s photographers in the area, but that doesn’t mean I am less talented or that you can walk all over me.

I am not trying to scare off potential customers here. I’m human. I’m frustrated. I’m venting.

But seriously. If you don’t plan on buying any photos, or if you don’t think you can afford me then don’t waste my time. It’s as simple as that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

