My life in a blog…

February 25, 2006

Look, I made a quilt!

Filed under: Arty-farty, Family stuff — missymuh @ 3:52 am

It didn’t take me three months either. It only took three days. I had to make a few minor alterations because it wasn’t quite big enough. But overall I think I was pretty successful for my first quilt.I even embroidered a little message on the bottom corner. “To my princess, love mummy xx. 2006”. OK so my embroidery leaves a little to be desired, but the important thing is Charlee loved it.

Now I just have to get her to sleep in her big girl bed…

Last time I attempted this it lasted a whole 12 hours. I thought I would ease her into it by just taking off one side of her cot. I was absolutely thrilled when she went to sleep in it after her bottle during the day. I though “this is easy”.

 I spoke too soon of course. When it came to bed time, it took me three and a half hours of crying, fighting, screaming and whining (And that was just me * lol *). She would not go to sleep. So I had to put the side of the cot back up again, and within 10 min she was fast asleep.

That was about 2 months ago, so I think I’ll give it another month then I’ll try again..

2 Comments »

  1. Im loving your quilt! Did you just do it in squares and sew it all up? Did you wad it? I want a sewing machine!!! I bought wading years ago that I found at my mums that I said I was going to make a quilt with but still havent gotten around to it. And of course Ive never made a quilt before, but now youve inspired me to make one for my darling daughter.

    BTW im loving your blog, just checked it out today. And I love your work website. The photos are great! Put up some more of your scrapbooking its great.

    Comment by Malli — February 26, 2006 @ 9:22 pm

  2. Thanks. I actually cheated a bit because it isn’t a real “quilt” because it has no wadding in it. it is basically just a donah cover, made like a quilt.
    First i measured a standard single bed donah cover, then worked out a simple design of basically just big squares. then stitched them all together. There is one strip at either end which is made up of 6 smaller squares sewn together, the rest of the squares are just bits of fabric cut to size. I think it looks quite effective though, it’s not quite as fussy as your standard quilt. it’s a bit more funky and shbby-chic-ish lol

    If you want me to send you a copy of my design so you get a better idea of what i’m waffling about then just send me an email.

    As for the scrapbooking, i have been meaning to put up more pics, but i havn’t found the time. i might do it this arvo actually cuz koby is at grandma’s and charlee has just gone to sleep.
    cheers 🙂

    Comment by missymuh — February 27, 2006 @ 3:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

